waiting

Waiting
Psalms 27:14 – Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.
Psalms 37:34 – Wait on the LORD, and keep his way, and he shall exalt thee to inherit the land: when the wicked are cut off, thou shalt see [it]..
Psalms 40:1 – (To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.) I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.
Patience is not my best character traits. Waiting is not an easy thing for me to do. I have been waiting for a job for over 4 months now, and have filled out over a 100 job applications which so far has only lead to 4 interviews, but still no job. I am still looking, applying, and hoping, believing God has a job for me. While I have been waiting God has been providing for my needs. Which I am thankful for. I cannot say that I have not been stressed or worried, because I have. Not having any income for any length of time is scary for me. I have been able to volunteer at the Library which has given me something productive to do, and being able to serve the community is a blessing in itself. Yet still no paycheck. To take my mind off of this being able to help in any way gives me a sense of purpose, and make the best of my time as I wait. Now
I look at the avocado plants I have grown and see a lesson in waiting. On average it has taken me 2 months of waiting to see a seed sprout, and 3 to 5 months after it has sprouted to plant. I have even gotten a grapefruit seed to sprout. Now it will be 2 to 3 years before these will produce any fruit. ( I am praying that I will have a job long before that, hoping this week is the week.)
I am learning that waiting is part of trusting in the Lord. I have given away a few avocado saplings and will probably not see if they grow to produce any fruit. I have a few that are at different stages of growth, but no matter what stage they are at I will still have to wait before I will see the fruit on these trees. So just because I do not see how God is working in my life right now, I must wait and trust, and believe. He will never fail me or you if we wait on Him.
grapefruit sproutseed to sappling2seeds 3

Leave a Reply

