Scars to Beauty Marks

From Scars to Beauty Marks

As I look at the scars on my body I realize things are not always what they look like. Yes the scars are real, from the burn scar on my wrist which originally was done to my hand as a child to the other scars both seen and unseen. To the world they look ugly and even to me for most of my life. It was only recently that I can look at these scars and see them as beauty marks. Why beauty marks? Well, because what caused these scars were painful events in my life. Yet they are what make me the woman I am today.

I was recently looking down at my arm examining the scars, the burn mark which is now on my wrist, the one left from a knife, and the missing knuckle above my pinky finger. The burn scar was left from a cigarette put out on my hand when I was four. The fact it resides on my wrist shows how much I grew. So this got me thinking.

What things look like is not always how they were perceived. You look at a scar and most would say they are ugly, some when bad enough are looked at as grotesque. Most of the scars on my own body are small and most probably do not notice them. A scar in the shape of a circle on my wrist is probably the most noticeable. A small scar from a knife a little further up the inside of my forearm is probably the least noticeable. I can continue to list the other scars which decorate my body, and then there are the unseen scars that no one can see because they are not visible to the eye. These are the scars left by the abuse that comes before the punches, the burns, the broken bones etc… These are scars that were left on my heart and mind. There are only two who know their true depth are me and my Savior Jesus.

It has taken most of my adult life to admit that I had these scars. I could write in detail all the events that left these scars, but today I choose to direct my focus on how Jesus has healed me and taken these scars and turned them into beauty marks. You see He too has scars on His body. He allowed Himself to be nailed to a cross so that I would be forgiven, healed, redeemed, and to know what ever pain I might have suffered He felt a pain much greater than mine. He did this all so that I would know that He loved me. His love and the life He gave for me has made me new. I am not who I used to be. I am not a punching bag, and I am not a victim. Through Him I have the victory because He gave it to me. He has caused me to grow in His love and to have hope and joy, even when the days are cold and stormy; I know I am not alone. Everything is okay. These marks are little maps that show how much He has changed me. I hope when you look into the mirror you will see all the beauty He sees when He looks at you.

J.S.

updated 7/17/2016

 

14 thoughts on “Scars to Beauty Marks

    1. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. It is not always easy to share the deeper personal things in our lives. Fear of judgment and criticism can cause a person to hold things inside. I am working through these fears myself so sharing in such a public way is my way of combatting these fears. Comments like yours encourage me to continue. Thank you

      Like

  1. I relate to this very much. I have a tracheotomy scar and several on my face from surgery. The keloid on my knee I wore about in “The Nine Lives of a Japanese Wife.” Chin up! We have Him!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow what a powerful post. I can’t imagine how some people can hurt a woman. I think it is unfortunate these things happened to you. But I thank God used your scars so to speak to make you the woman you are today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

