Bread and Water / Bible Lesson

Bread and Water

What good does a glass of water do for me if I do not drink it? If I were to leave the glass of water just sitting there, what would happen to it? I am not sure how much time it would take but it would begin to evaporate till there was nothing but residue left on the glass. Another thing that would happen since it is stagnate, if the conditions were not right for the water to evaporate quickly you would see the water begin to have a slimy film on its surface.  So if I pour a glass of water and just let it sit there we have two examples of what can happen. Another thing is the glass could be knocked over and the water would spill out. I could continue to come up with ideas of what could happen to the untouched glass of water.

Now here is a loaf of bread. I could just leave it there whole it looks good. I want to do more than look at the bread so I take a knife and slice it into some pieces. I then decide I want to share this bread. I go to pass it out and some of you will take it and others will have excuses and reject it. What happens to the bread if it is left untouched? It becomes stale or moldy. It does you no good when it is like that.

Here is the Bible. You open it up. You read the words printed in it. You close it. You put it back down. Okay you can say you have read your Bible.

Well just like pouring a glass of water or slicing yourself a piece of bread what good does it do you if you don’t drink the water or eat the bread?

Jesus is the bread of life and He gives us living water that we will never thirst again. He poured Himself out for us so that we can live! So if all we do is read our Bible and not apply to ourselves what good does it do us? If we do not share His Word what good does it do? We become like the untouched water and rejected bread we become dry and useless.

So do more than read your bible. Feast on every word let not one morsel be wasted. Apply the word to your life. Live it. Share it with others. Do not reject that piece of bread. Let it nourish you and fill you.

Jesus is more than enough to satisfy every need of every person on this planet and more. There is a famine throughout the world. We see it on the TV, read it in news papers and magazines. We know there is a food shortage and contaminated water problems all over the world. Even here in Bridgeport we have gotten the notices that we have had problems with our water.  Feed the Children is one group I am sure most of us have watched a commercial for. I know this is just one organization and there are many others that go out and try to meet the needs of these people where ever they may live, trying to meet the physical needs of these people. This is good, but we forget there is a spiritual famine. Your neighbor could be dying spiritually because no one is sharing the Gospel with them. Jesus said that when ever two or more are gathered in His name He is there! So share Him. Do not be a spiritual glutton keeping Him to yourself like a child with a toy they do not want to share. Everyday walking around you are people who are in bondage. They are spiritual prisoners. The only One who can set them free is Jesus! We are His body; we need to do the work He has sent us out to do. We need to do more than just read and talk about Him. We need to live for Him. Let him work through us. We are His vessels. Like a pitcher that holds water, or a ship that travels the seas. We carry Him where ever we go.

Just as God told Abraham he would give birth to nations, we are those nations. We belong to the tribe of God. Jesus told us we are to go out and make disciples of all nations. So why are we just sitting here. Why are there still so many people that are lost hurting and dying? It is time to pick up the ball, get in the game and run with it. He will give you strength and you will not grow weary. He will give you the words to speak if you allow Him to speak through you. However nothing is going to happen if you sit on the sidelines like a spectator. Do not just hear His call get up and answer it.  If the hear does not pump the blood and the blood does not travel throughout the body through the arteries and return to the heart through the veins the body will die. Life is active; it moves it does not sit still. You do not have to go to another country to be a missionary. The mission field is here. There are so many who need Jesus right here in your own neighborhood. He tells us the harvest is plenty but the laborers are few.

Scriptures to read

John 6:35  And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

John 4:14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:15 The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.” John 6:48 I am the bread of life. John 6:51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.” John 7:37 On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

Matthew 28: 18And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, 20teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Mark 16:15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.

2Corinthians 4:7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the exceeding greatness of the power may be of God, and not from ourselves;

Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

James 2:17 Even so faith, if it has no works, is dead, being by itself. 18But someone may well say, “You have faith and I have works; show me your faith without the works, and I will show you my faith by my works.”

James 2:18 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds.

James 2:19You believe that God is one. You do well; the demons also believe, and shudder. 20But are you willing to recognize, you foolish fellow, that faith without works is useless? 21Was not Abraham our father justified by works when he offered up Isaac his son on the altar?…

James 2:25 In the same way, was not Rahab the harlot also justified by works when she received the messengers and sent them out by another way? 26For just as the body without the spirit is dead, so also faith without works is dead.

1 Peter 2:12 Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.

Exodus 4:12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

Exodus 4:15And thou shalt speak unto him, and put words in his mouth: and I will be with thy mouth, and with his mouth, and will teach you what ye shall do.

Isaiah 51: 15“For I am the LORD your God, who stirs up the sea and its waves roar (the LORD of hosts is His name). 16“I have put My words in your mouth and have covered you with the shadow of My hand, to establish the heavens, to found the earth, and to say to Zion, ‘You are My people.'”

Matthew 9: 36Seeing the people, He felt compassion for them, because they were distressed and dispirited like sheep without a shepherd. 37Then He said to His disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. 38“Therefore beseech the Lord of the harvest to send out workers into His harvest.”

Luke 10: 1 Now after this the Lord appointed seventy others, and sent them in pairs ahead of Him to every city and place where He Himself was going to come. 2And He was saying to them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore beseech the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.

2 thoughts on “Bread and Water / Bible Lesson

Leave a Reply

