How do I live in this world?

I want this, I want that! I want it right now!

I don’t care what it cost.

I don’t care who it may hurt.

It is my right to have what I want, how I want it and when I want it.

These statements sound awful don’t they? But don’t they reflect how most people behave today? People have come to a place where their pleasures and desires come first in their lives than love and concern for others. They are impatient, and demanding. This is heartbreaking but true. Their concern is for their needs are met first, even if  not true necessities. Just because a person wants something does not mean it is a real need. Nor does it mean they have a right to have things their way. People have become selfish, demanding, and careless. This should not be a surprise though. The Bible warned that their would be a time just like this.

2 Timothy 3:1-5 ESV

1 But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. 2 For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 3 heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, 4treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, 5 having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people.  (read entire chapter)

Philippians 2:20-21 ESV

20For I have no one like him, who will be genuinely concerned for your welfare.
21 For they all seek their own interests, not those of Jesus Christ.
This does not mean we all behave in this manner, but  if Christ is in you then you will have no desire to live in such a way. We may live in this world but we are not to be a part of it. We are to live as Jesus told us. We are to live in love. Love not as the world sees love but as He showed us when He gave His life to save us. He did not fight to save His life, or utter one word in His own defense. He took the beatings, being spit on , He was mocked, and finally crucified. He did not worry about earthly possessions but gave His life for the lives of others which included those who hated Him. That is love that is not understood or practiced by man or those of this world.
2Corinthians6:17 ESV
17 Therefore go out from their midst,  and be separate from them, says the Lord,
and touch no unclean thing; then I will welcome you,
Romans 12:2 ESV
Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.
1John 2:15-17
Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.
We may live in a fallen world which rejects the will and love of Jesus but we are not part of this world when Jesus lives in us. When you choose to receive Jesus as your Lord and Savior, the desires of your heart changes. The things of this world do not mean to you what they once did. We can live lives pleasing to Him by abiding in His love and sharing that love with others. Helping other to find the Light in this dark world. This is what I want to share. His love, His way, His Truth, His Light, His healing and His peace. I live in this world but this world no longer lives in me, Jesus lives in me. His ways become my ways. His hear replaces my heart. His thoughts become my thoughts. I stay in His Word and His Word gives me direction. This is how I live in this world.
Leave a Reply

