Spiritual Health Physical Health/1 Corinthians 6:19

The Body is a Temple of the Holy Spirit
18 Flee immorality. Every other sin that a man commits is outside the body, but the immoral man sins against his own body. 19 Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? 20 For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body.

We must take diligent care of our body. It is a daily effort. To neglect our body is to neglect what God has given to us. When we receive Jesus as our Savior and Lord we receive His Spirit to live in us. Many of us have some type of ailment. This was the inspiration for me to start a study on both physical health and spiritual health. I know so many who suffer from different health issues. Before I started this study my main health issue was pain due to injuries to my back that effected many areas of both my body and my attitude. I want to live a better life not restricted by my body. I had learned some years ago that when my pain level spiked my attitude got ugly. I was short tempered and my mind would think about all of the abuse it had gone through and I would be angry for all the wrong I had suffered. I would start playing the blame game. If this had happened to me I would not feel this way. Then I finally had enough and decided that I could no longer this way. Despite what condition my body may be in I had to learn to have the joy of the Lord. For it is written to count it all joy when you face trials and tribulations. I was also holding onto bitterness and resentment. I was not forgiving those who had hurt me. This had to change. I started with my tongue taking great care to learn to speak words of love, life, peace, and encouragement. Now the health problems of others are not the same as mine but I know from my own experience that we all face feelings that make our problems worse when we give into them. So I started looking deep into the scripture about caring for my body as well as tips on taking better care of the body.

Now a month after I started this study I have been hit with a new health issue. I now have been diagnosed with stroke level blood pressure. Any of you who have blood pressure you know what my body has been going through.This however is new to me since this is the first time in my life that I have experienced high blood pressure. I used to say with all my problems at least I had a good heart and good blood pressure. As a matter of fact the worse it had ever been was extremely low when my health would get bad. Now I am not a big fan of going to the doctor. Yet I knew that was not something that I could ignore. So I went to the doctor the other day so that I could know what exactly was happening with my body. I did not want anything to be wrong but I knew that for the last few weeks my body was going down hill fast and I needed to know what was wrong so that I could deal with it. Pretending nothing was wrong would have only done more damage. I had often heard from some people that that hated doctors and that they did not want to get checked out because they would rather not know. Now I am not saying run to the doctor or E.R. for every sneeze or cough. That to me is unnecessary. Yet when you feel that something is wrong do not ignore it. We need to know the cause so that it can be dealt with. Next month it will be four years since I lost my mother to a sudden stroke. If had not gone to the doctor and got examined I very well could have had a stroke but now I am under a doctors care and on medication and will be able live a healthier life.

Take care of your body. It is the only one on this planet that you will have. As long as there is life in your body you have a purpose Go has for you. No matter what shape your body is in you can still serve the Lord. You are more likely to be emphatic to another because you know from your own experience how pain and illness can effect a persons attitude and how one can feel hopeless and depressed because of their ailment. You are the witness to them that no matter what God loves us and cares for each and everyone of us. That despite our circumstance we still have hope and joy.

God bless and keep you always.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Health Physical Health/1 Corinthians 6:19

Leave a Reply

