How do you love a sinner? A discussion

I had an enjoyable conversation today with someone new. Our conversation began with some of my writing. Which continued into religious topics, from confronting sin, to love(not the romantic love but love) Then they asked me a question, ‘How do you love a person who lives a sinful life? We did not get into depth, but it was a question asked to give some thought to. We did not discuss my first thought, which was that Jesus gave His life for us while we were still sinners. What they partially wanted to know is how would this topic be received, and how would one write about this. Even though I will share my views on this subject, this post is more for discussion and wanting to know your thoughts.

So please tell me how you go about loving someone who is living a life that is objectionable to your beliefs?

Here are some of my own thoughts.

  1. Jesus died for us while we were still sinners. He did not wait till we followed all of His commands.
  2. He taught us to not only love our neighbor but to love those who hate us.
  3. There was the woman caught in adultery who the crowd wanted Him to pass judgement on, wanting her to be stoned. He did not condemn her but forgave her of her sin and told her to go and sin no more. He did not tell her how terrible she was but showed her love.
  4. The woman at the well He offered her living water before He addressed her living situation. He knew who she was and how many times that she had been married and that she was now living with a man that she was not his wife. She then ran to tell others of Jesus.
  5. On the cross He asked to His Father to forgive us that we know not what we do.

I have many other thoughts but these she me how Jesus loved us as we are. As I grow in His love His love transforms me. Jesus said if you love me you will keep my commands. People talk about falling in love, and love at first sight. To me this is attraction. Real love is more than that, and true love can only be learned from the One who truly is love. I am no expert on love and my relationship with Jesus is not perfect. Not because He does not love me perfectly but because I do not truly understand what love really is. As I grow in my relationship with Him I am learning more what love is and how to love. I have been guilty of being judgmental and even hateful towards others in my zeal for Christ. i have beaten them down with religious rules. I know that a life without Jesus ends in death. I have pushed people away from His love with my  thinking about the need to follow the rules. I discuss this in my post

The Hammer https://emotionalpeace.wordpress.com/2015/11/25/the-hammer/

I have learned to look in the mirror and examine my own heart and actions. Seeing how much Jesus loves me and accepts me is teaching me to love others. I now see that He loves us all, even those who continue to reject Him or that who have not met Him yet. It is through us His body to show His Love to the unlovable.

Now it is your turn;

Please leave your thoughts, views, and experiences in the comments.

 

17 thoughts on “How do you love a sinner? A discussion

  1. Yes, sometimes I have “beaten people over the head” with the Gospel and sometimes I still do. But with some people I just reach a point where all I can do is just love them and remember that I’m just a sinner saved by Grace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to
    suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been drafting a post on perfectionism. There’s line of yours I’d like to quote, if you’ll permit me. “…Jesus loved us as we are. As I grow in His love His love transforms me.” Naturally, I would give you credit. Many thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent post! After I divorced my husband of 13 years and father of our only child (6 years old daughter), God showed me He was the man He created for me! You see, we did meet in a Christian full time ministry. But long story short, we left the Lord and ministry soon after our marriage. I was so cynical and was giving up on love. But I began to search the Bible like never before…and discovered God is LOVE! Read the entire 1 John, but here were the key verses:1 John 4:13-16 “This is how we know that we live in Him and He in us: He has given us of His Spirit. And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent His Son to be the Savior of the world. If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in them and they in God. And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.”
    So I said, OK, God, I can’t love him anymore….love him THRU me….and God did! WOW, it was great and HE restored our family. Now we say we have been married on and off 42 years….
    Here is the start of a 26 “Chapter” blog on “Why Share About our Marriage?” https://thetumblelees.me/2011/07/18/so-why-share-about-our-marriage/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. PS…forgot to say, the next time I was challenged with loving sinners was when I was to over see about 6 5th and 6th grade boys in AWANA….talk about sinners and they were stinky (I got them after they played sports….). UGH, I was a mother to a girl, I didn’t know about boys! So I prayed again, LORD, love them through me!!! And oh how I grew to LOVE LOVE LOVE them!!!! And now most of them are fathers and I see them growing in God’s Grace on Facebook since we moved away….

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! Thank you for your honesty and those wonderful Bible verses! Regarding my own experiences, I try to practice the concept of “hate the sin, love the sinner.” However, some sinners are harder to love than others. I saw a bumper sticker once that read, “God loves you and I’m trying.” That pretty much sums it up. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

