Pain Part 1

Pain is something that each of us experience. The pain will be different for each person. The reason for the pain, whether it is physical, emotional or both, is also going to be different for each person. Yet pain still hurts. The pain you feel may make you feel isolated, and you may feel like there is no one who understands your pain. It effects your mood, your mental state, and can easily turn into anger. It can also be a stumbling block on your path of forgiveness. When the pain flares up, you are may think about the person or event that caused your pain. If you are like me your thoughts probably are not happy or loving. When this happens for me I pray and ask God to help me forgive and to bless the one who had hurt me. I used to let my pain control me and my moods. I was easily angered, and hated the people who had hurt, abused, used, and betrayed me just to name a few thing that had been done to me. I had come to a place where I was out of control. My anger turned to rage, and I wanted to hurt everyone who hurt me. I also hated myself for this and wanted to end my own life. then one day I exploded and the verbal poison that spewed out of my mouth made it to my own ears.  I t actually made me stop, and I realized that I needed help that I could not get from man. I had been getting treated for PTSD, but the treatment was mainly antidepressants that did not help. I actually felt myself get worse the longer I took them. God has since delivered me from the rage I once felt boiling inside of me. I am still in constant pain but it does not control my emotions like it once had. I will not say that it does not still cause anger from time to time because it does. What it does not do is overwhelm me. I am able to acknowledge the cause of my pain and anger and pray accordingly and reign in my thoughts and do not let negative feelings turn into wrong actions.(Ephesians 4:26-28 Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil. Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need.) Pain is inevitable. When we were born our mother endured great pain to bring us into this world. If you are alive you are going to experience pain from time to time.(Genesis 3:16-17 To the woman He said, “I will greatly multiply Your pain in childbirth, In pain you will bring forth children; Yet your desire will be for your husband, And he will rule over you.” Then to Adam He said, “Because you have listened to the voice of your wife, and have eaten from the tree about which I commanded you, saying, ‘You shall not eat from it’; Cursed is the ground because of you; In toil you will eat of it All the days of your life.) Pain hurts! What you do when in pain is for your to decide. I often think about Jesus right before His crucifixion when He was being beaten and the crown of thorns was forced upon His head. He could have said ‘I don’t deserve this!’ and walked away. He did not do that though, thank God. He endured the pain of the beatings, the crown of thorns, carrying the cross uphill to the place where He would be crucified. He endured so much pain and His response was ‘Father forgive them, they know not what they are doing’. How great the love! How great the pain.

I will be writing more on pain and about what God has revealed to me. God bless and keep you in His love and care.

 


4 thoughts on “Pain Part 1

  1. Very well written. I enjoyed reading this even though the topic is a tough one to deal with, let alone write compellingly about. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

