Pain Part 3

Pain is unavoidable and is an unpleasant part of life. If I were to say that I enjoyed pain you would know something is wrong with me. I hate pain, it hurts! So what do you when you feel pain? How do you react when someone hurts you?  To be honest when I am hurt I my first thought is not to be kind. I would like to hit the person who hit me back. Yet Jesus tells us to turn and offer the other cheek. (Luke 6:29 If someone strikes you on one cheek,turn to him the other also. And if someone takes your cloak, do not withhold your tunic as well. ) No matter how many times I read this verse I still say, “Really?” Yet then I also remember visiting a dojo, and watched a sensei do a demonstration. He stood with a gentle smile on his face while a student proceeded to strike him repetitively on both cheeks. His expression never changed no matter how many times he was struck, he just stood there smiling. I was on the opposite side of the large room and could hear the sound of each hit, and I could see the red marks left on his cheeks. At the end of the demonstration he simply said, “We are to do no harm. Just because you are hit does not mean that you must react. To hurt the one who is attacking you is to do harm. Taking time to determine if the attack is truly threatening and evaluating your response is important.” He was not teaching that his students become punching bags, but to not react in anger. Pain can lead to anger quickly. Scripture tells us to be slow to anger and that a gentle answer turns away wrath.(James 1:19 My beloved brothers, understand this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to anger,/Proverbs 15:A gentle answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger.) So then the next time you are hurt take a moment and think what is your best reaction. Just because we are in pain does not mean we are allowed to cause pain in return. (Genesis 31:29 I have the power to harm you; but last night the God of your father said to me, ‘Be careful not to say anything to Jacob, either good or bad.’) Every day some one or thing may hurt you, and the pain you feel will make you feel bad. Yet even while in pain you can choose to do the right thing no matter how much it may hurt. Think about the story of Job and how much pain he went through. Pain of losing children, his health and his wealth. Yet even when criticized and told to curse God and die he remained faithful to God. When he made it through all this tragedy he went a step further. God was going to deal with his friends who basically kicked him while he was down. Yet Job interceded for them and saved their lives. He is a better man than I am(okay I am a woman, but you get my meaning). His example inspires me to do better and to ask God to help me to become a more gentle person who does not have to act in anger just because I am in pain.

God bless and keep you from all harm.

4 thoughts on “Pain Part 3

  1. Excellent thoughtful comments about pain. Tough to read. Tough to admit we’re in it, but a necessary part of our journey with the Lord. Appreciated your three insights the way you conveyed them. You have a pleasant, compelling way to express your thoughts. Thank you for sharing. I enjoyed all three parts, but saved my comments for this final post. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

