Pain Part 4

If you have ever been in a fight, you know when you get hit it is going to hurt. Even blocking a blow is painful. Boxers, martial artists, and other fighters train their bodies not only to fight but to endure the pain the fight will cause the body, so that when they get hit the pain doesn’t knock them out. The pain they go through during their training and even a fight is not the pain that you feel though. So you may be thinking why am I talking about the pain they put their bodies through. Whatever your pain may be you understand that it hurts. There is pain from health problems, and pain killers may give temporary relief from the pain but the cause of the pain remains. There is pain from the loss of a loved one, the end of a relationship,and the loss of a job. There is emotional pain which may have been caused by something small or by something tragic like abuse. I have yet to meet one person that has not experienced pain. When I first began this series on pain, it was because that I was laying in pain and crying out to God that I was tired of hurting. Then a simple vision of a fighter deflecting blows came to my mind and I thought if that person had never been hit before and had not experience pain that blow would have knocked him out. Then I thought about all the different things that have caused pain in my life. I though about the times that I was so tired of pain that I just wanted to give up. That living was too painful. Yet here I am! Pain and all I am still here. I have endured the pain and because God did not give up on me I have not lost my faith in Him. He said that no weapon formed against me will prosper. He did not say there would not be any weapons.(Isaiah 54:17 (NKJV)  No weapon formed against you shall prosper, And every tongue which rises against you in judgment You shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, And their righteousness is from Me,”Says the Lord.) In this world we will face trials and tribulations. If you belong to Jesus you will face attacks by those in the world both physically and spiritually. We are not to fight as the world fights but we will fight the good fight and yes experience pain. We can take the pain we have experienced in our life and use it to do good for the Lord. (Genesis 50:20 (NKJV) But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.) the pain that I have lived through has given me compassion when I meet someone who is hurting. It has even given me understanding for some peoples behavior. It has helped me to know who and what to pay for. God has never wanted for you be in pain, but because we live in a fallen world and face battles we get hurt. He can turn your pain into something beautiful. If you have been abused (sexually, physically or emotionally) you understand how this pain can destroy a person who never experiences the love of Christ. Then they hear your testimony and see how you have learned to live beyond the abuse and how God has healed you from the pain you suffered and how you have a joy that they cannot understand they then can receive Jesus and be healed and saved. Your testimony is a great weapon to use against the enemy because you are living proof of what God will do for anyone who turns to Him. Our witness in how we deal with the pain we feel its a tool that even a stranger can acknowledge and desire to know how you do it. When you tell them God is with you in both good times and bad you share His love and faithfulness. Yes your pain hurts and you have days that like myself you cry out and want to give up. Please don’t! When a woman gives birth it hurts! Yet she pushes, and pushes until that beautiful new life enters the world. Push through your pain and you too will enter into a new life. A day will come when Jesus will return, until then fight the good fight, stand firm and endure the pain, in the end great will be your reward.

God bless and heal your wounds.

Leave a Reply

