Wipe Your Feet!

The Welcome mat outside your home is for more than decoration. It has a purpose, you are to use it to wipe the dirt off of the bottom of your shoes off so you do not track the dirt into the home.

My mother was Japanese and before you entered her home you took off your shoes before you entered her home. In biblical times there were servants who greeted guests and washed their feet. Jesus washed the feet of His disciples.

John 13:1-17 (NKJV)

Jesus Washes the Disciples’ Feet

13 Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that His hour had come that He should depart from this world to the Father, having loved His own who were in the world, He loved them to the end.

And supper being ended,[a] the devil having already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray Him, Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into His hands, and that He had come from God and was going to God, rose from supper and laid aside His garments, took a towel and girded Himself. After that, He poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded. Then He came to Simon Peter. AndPeter said to Him, “Lord, are You washing my feet?”

Jesus answered and said to him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.”

Peter said to Him, “You shall never wash my feet!”

Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me.”

Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head!”

10 Jesus said to him, “He who is bathed needs only to wash his feet, but is completely clean; and you are clean, but not all of you.” 11 For He knew who would betray Him; therefore He said, “You are not all clean.”

12 So when He had washed their feet, taken His garments, and sat down again, He said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you? 13 You call Me Teacher and Lord, and you say well, for so I am. 14 If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. 15 For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. 16 Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him. 17 If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.

 When children still lived in my home I would tell them to wipe their feet. Living in an apartment that has floors that are all tiled. I can see the dirt that gets tracked in. The soles of your shoes get dirty, so before you enter a home it shows respect to wipe your feet before entering, so that you do not track dirt or anything else you may have stepped on into the home. After I swept off my welcome mat it came to me what kind of spiritual filth do we have clinging on to us.  The soles of our shoes and feet are not the only comes in contact with dirt. We live in a fallen world and the effects of sin are everywhere we go. We have a spiritual battle we ace everyday. Our spirits battle the flesh and there is not one of us who has not sinned. (Romans 3:23 (NKJV)  23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,) 

I liked it when Peter told Jesus to wash not only his feet but all of him. (John 13:9) We need to kick off the filth of sin off of ourselves and not track the filth of the world and walk in the Light of Jesus and His righteousness.

So ‘Wipe your feet!’ Walk the straight and narrow. Walk in love, and walk in peace.

One thought on “Wipe Your Feet!

Leave a Reply

