Temper Temper 2.Don’t lose your temper.

In my previous blog I posted the definition of Temper. Why? I was actually looking up the making of a sword. I had used this as an analogy when discussing difficulties and trials we go through when we don’t understand why. The pounding and the stretching of the metal and how the metal needs to be tempered to increase it’s strength. Since I had done a lesson on this a few years back I thought I would brush up on some facts and looked up the definition of temper. As I read through each definition it amazed me how one word had so much meaning. Having dealt with my own anger for most of my life, I had always associated temper with anger. Such as ‘I lost my temper.’ I never had thought of how being tempered could be ones strength. I still have bouts with anger but I have learned to deal with my anger in a more productive and positive manner. This of course is thanks to Jesus and His Holy Spirit who teaches me that just because I have been hurt or done wrong I do not have to retaliate in anger. I have learned to be even tempered even when things happen to aggravate or hurt me. Losing my temper can now be related to losing my strength. When I think of my strength I think of this ‘The joy of the Lord is my strength’, so if I lose my temper, I lose the joy that the Lord has given to me. This does not mean I will never get angry but that I will not allow the anger to control me. That even when I am angry I will be able think clearly and act in calm and productive manner.

Nehemiah 8:10(NKJV)  Then he said to them, “Go your way, eat the fat, drink the sweet, and send portions to those for whom nothing is prepared; for this day is holy to our Lord. Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”

temper

noun

3. rage, fury, bad mood, passion, paddy (Brit. informal), wax (informal, chiefly Brit.), tantrum, bate (Brit. slang),fit of pique She was still in a temper when I arrived.
4. self-control, composure, cool (slang), calm, good humour, tranquillity, coolness, calmness, equanimityI’ve never seen him lose his temper.
self-control anger, fury, wrath, irritation, indignation, agitation, pique, bad mood, excitability, vexation,grumpiness, irascibility, foul humour
verb

1. moderate, restrain, tone down, calm, soften, soothe, lessen, allay, mitigate, abate, assuage, mollify, soft-pedal (informal), palliate, admix He had to learn to temper his enthusiasm.
moderate intensify, arouse, heighten, excite, stir, provoke, aggravate
2. strengthen, harden, toughen, anneal a new way of tempering glass
strengthen soften
Collins Thesaurus of the English Language – Complete and Unabridged 2nd Edition. 2002 © HarperCollins Publishers 1995, 2002
