Loving The Unlovable / The discussion continues…

NKJV Luke 6:32 “But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.

Matthew 5:44 (NKJV) But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you,[a]

Footnotes: Matthew 5:44 NU-Text omits three clauses from this verse, leaving, “But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.”

How do you love someone who hates you? If you have the answer please tell me. Thankfully Jesus is not only my Savior but He is also my teacher. We all have people in our lives who do not like us and even some who hate us. For some we may have given them reason by something we may have done. We may have hurt them or done some wrong to them. Then there are those who you have done nothing to them and they hate you. They do everything they can to make you miserable. They are hostile towards you and all you can do is ask yourself, ‘What did I do?’.You go out of your way to be kind and courteous to them and they react as if you spit poison on them. Then you read these words, ‘Love those who hate you’. What goes through your mind is probably, ‘Are you joking?’ or ‘You can’t be serious.’ How can you love someone who outright hates you? They reject you, they hurt you, and they may even persecute you. They definitely do not love you. So what can make you want to love anyone who is like this? My inspiration is Jesus! Even as He was dying on the cross and being mocked He said, “Father forgive them, they know not what they do’. In the 33 years He spent on this earth, Joseph had to move Him and His mother Mary while still a very young boy because the ruler ordered all boys under a certain age be killed because the king was afraid that he would lose His throne. Then when He started His ministry, people attacked Him both verbally and physically. They wanted to stone Him. The Pharisees plotted against Him. They were able to pay Judas 30 pieces of silver to betray Jesus.They arrested Him, falsely accused Him and demanded His crucifixion. He was beaten, ridiculed and mocked. He was even spit upon. Had to carry His own cross to the place of His death. Then once nailed to the cross people called out, mocking Him, even one of the men who was being crucified next to Him ridiculed Him. Why would the Son of God go through this when He knew beforehand He would go through all of this? Why? He loves us. He loves us no matter who we are or what we have done. So why can’t we love like this? I have no magical answer. All I can do is follow the example Jesus gave to us all. To be honest I fail miserably on a regular basis on this area. I try and keep making the effort. It is frustrating, but I know that I didn’t deserve His love and He still loved me.So when I get angry and hurt by the way someone treats me, I have to make the effort to think about, that this person is still loved by Jesus and since He is in me I can let Him love through me.Just as He loves me. He has forgiven me and loved me perfectly. So as hard as it may be that is the mercy and grace I must share with others.

If you would please leave your story on loving someone hard to love. You never know who you will inspire.

10 thoughts on “Loving The Unlovable / The discussion continues…

  1. Amen! I hear you.
    So hears how it worked for me a few times. After a very contentious divorce, one that I had prayed would be civil for the sake of our daughter, I had to learn how to let love override hate. I basically divorced my husband because he kept our daughter and me out of any type of Christian fellowship. Ironically, we were in a full-time Christian ministry when we met. If you know anything about leaving a Christian ministry, Satan will do all he can to pull you totally away from God our Heavenly Father. I am mediately got back into a church and fellowship, and began reading my Bible. I was very cynical about love, but God was so kind and gracious He began to show me so many wonderful things. I guess I need to write a post about it in our blog! Long story short, God showed me I needed to love my ex-husband. So of course I prayed, “God how do I do that?” It wasn’t an audible voice, but I clearly understood God to direct me to let Him, God our Heavenly Father, to love Bill through me. Oh glorious day, I began to do so, and guess what? We both fell back in love again with Jesus at the center of our new relationship. He totally restored our family and we remarried a year after our separation which led to a divorce. Whenever God put anybody on lovely in my path, I simply say that same prayer, God love this person through me because Heaven knows there’s nothing worth loving in my eyes! And it has worked….. If I ever get the time to write this up, which I do talk about on various responses in posts, I will come back and insert a link to it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This kind of love comes with the territory. It is the center of His kingdom, rooted in the heart and Spirit of our Lord and Savior. It is the opposite side of the coin “forgiveness.” It is a mind-set that eventually takes supernatural control of our being. When finally we come to this kingdom living in Christ, we “hate” any other way. The heart of forgiveness is set to encounter anything that is against the love of Christ. If you would allow a free gift – a free eBook to be offered here, please visit fatherandfamily.com or my blog godsgracegodsglory.com First Things That Last Forever includes a chapter on this subject of love. This and other books describe how the Lord has worked in my 77 years, so that I may teach and encourage others. Profit from our books is designated for missions and charity.
    I would love for Debbie to proof the books I am working on now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post Julie. I do have experience of this as again and again throughout my life, I have come up against people who decided for whatever reason they were not going to like me, actively showed their hatred and sought to draw others into their vendetta.
    There is no way as humans we can love the unlovely. The ONLY way we can, as both you and Debbie have mentioned, is to let God/Jesus love through us. It is a decision, a choice we must make and maintain.
    Bless you. I enjoyed reading this post and dropped by via a link in Debbie’s post on the same subject.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

