Criticism vs. Love / Mark 10:48

Many people criticized the blind man. They told him not to speak. But the blind man shouted more and more, “Son of David, please help me!” — Mark 10:48 (ERV)

Has the criticism and fear of judgment from other believers caused you to be silent when you were hurting and in need of comfort? Have you suffered because of this fear? Christians can be harsh with one another without meaning to be. We can be judgmental and critical of our brothers and sisters in Christ and become stumbling blocks without realizing the harm we are causing. They hear words like, ‘Now is not the time you are being disruptive’ or “‘You must not have enough faith’. I can list or things that are said that can cause a person to keep quiet, but instead I am going to focus on this man’s faith in Jesus that he would not be silent but call out until he was not only heard but answered. If you continue to read this story of this blind man, you will find that Jesus heals him and he is able to see. I have been on both sides of judgment and criticism I am sad to say. I have had to do a lot of repenting for being harsh with others. Just because others have been so with me did not give me an excuse to behave in the same manner. I have since learned to take my bad experiences and used them to make me more compassionate to others who are lost and hurting. Who just need to be heard. In our judgment we are not listening to the cries of pain and suffering these people are going through. One way to show the love of Jesus is to just listen and be there to hold them up when they are down. Most already know what is wrong in their life and they are only wanting someone to throw them a life line to pull them up. You don’t tell a drowning man,”Hey! You are drowning!” or “You are in too deep!” You throw them a life preserver, or jump in and bring them to safety. The life preserver I am speaking of hear is Jesus and the love He has for all of us. I have heard the excuse, “I had to be tough of them, the truth hurts’, and the list goes on. Jesus is the Truth, the Light and the Way. I often fail in being the right example but I am learning to change my ways to His, and follow in His steps. So I try to remember all the times He has to pick me up out of my mess when I have stumbled, I should be merciful to any I that I come across who are down and hurting. To share His love and remember a saying from the military, “Leave no man behind”.  Which we know reflects the scripture about God not being slow. 2 Peter 3:9 (NKJV)  The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. I am choosing to live my life in a way that is grateful for what Jesus has done for me by being His vessel carrying His love and mercy to anyone who is in need.

 

4 thoughts on “Criticism vs. Love / Mark 10:48

Leave a Reply

