Get out of the dark!

Too many of us deal with depression. I have dealt with depression myself, I wish I could say that I have conquered this battle but the war rages on. I have more days that are better than bad now I am thankful to say. I have learned recognize when I am having a bad day that I keep my home dark. I keep the blinds and curtains closed to keep the sunlight out. You can’t grow in the dark. With darkness my depression deepens and my will to live dies. I now understand the importance of getting out in the sunlight, letting the warmth in and the light brighten my day. I have learned if I want to change and grow in love that I can’t stay in the dark.

Light in us

Receiving  Jesus as my Savior invited His light to live within me.

Candlelight1

Learning that even in the darkest of my days His light was there. He gave me hope when I was hopeless, and gave me a reason to live when I saw none.

Light of the sun

Even on a cloudy day His light breaks through just as His love overcomes the darkness. The choice to be in His light is however up to me to live in. Letting light into my home has caused many plants to grow.

Letting His love in has helped me to grow beyond the depression. I still have days that I the darkness overwhelms me but it is up to me to get out of the dark and into the light.

Bible Verses About Darkness and Light

http://www.topbibleverses.com/bible-verses-about-darkness-and-light

“The night is far gone; the day is at hand. So then let us cast off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light.” Romans 13:12 ESV


“But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, which shines brighter and brighter until full day.” Proverbs 4:18 ESV


“This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.” 1 John 1:5 ESV


“Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”” John 8:12 ESV


“May that day be darkness; May God above not seek it, Nor the light shine upon it.” Job 3:4 NKJB


“So it came between the camp of the Egyptians and the camp of Israel. Thus it was a cloud and darkness to the one, and it gave light by night to the other, so that the one did not come near the other all that night.” Exodus 14:20 NKJB


“and to rule over the day and over the night, and to divide the light from the darkness. And God saw that it was good.” Genesis 1:18 NKJB


“God called the light Day, and the darkness He called Night. So the evening and the morning were the first day.” Genesis 1:5 NKJB


“And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness.” Genesis 1:4 NKJB

12 thoughts on “Get out of the dark!

  1. That is correct Evil loves darkness and it will thrive where ever it is dark. I deal with it myself. It is a hard struggle. I live daily with my blinds closed due to the direction of my home, the blinds keep the heat out, however, I relieve the pressure of depression by going out daily later before the son goes down. It is easy for me to stay focused and not let depression get a hold of my when my house is full of people, and being the spouse and father, I put myself in a position that requires me to have a clear head and open mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

