Dried Up

Do you ever feel that you have been drained of every once of life and that you have nothing left? I get this way more often than I care to admit. I feel like a barren desert, and that I am beyond exhausted. Even words escape me and I can not even think of anything to say. I have given all that I have and done everything that I could and I have nothing left. How terrible you think. It may seem to be that way but it isn’t. How can be exhausted, drained and basically all dried up be good? I seem to be contradicting myself but I am not. Okay then I must be crazy, right? Well I do have a crazy side but craziness has nothing to do with why I feel that being dried up and empty is good. It means that there is nothing left of me and now Jesus can fill me with His newness. I like the scripture where He is talking to the woman at the well. She is drawing water out of a well and they talk and He tells her that He can give her living water and she will never thirst again.

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John+4&version=NKJV

John 4:4-15 (NKJV)

A Samaritan Woman Meets Her Messiah

Therefore, when the Lord knew that the Pharisees had heard that Jesus made and baptized more disciples than John (though Jesus Himself did not baptize, but His disciples), He left Judea and departed again to Galilee. But He needed to go through Samaria.

So He came to a city of Samaria which is called Sychar, near the plot of ground that Jacob gave to his son Joseph. Now Jacob’s well was there. Jesus therefore, being wearied from His journey, sat thus by the well. It was about the sixth hour.

A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give Me a drink.” For His disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.

Then the woman of Samaria said to Him, “How is it that You, being a Jew, ask a drink from me, a Samaritan woman?” For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.

10 Jesus answered and said to her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water.”

11 The woman said to Him, “Sir, You have nothing to draw with, and the well is deep. Where then do You get that living water? 12 Are You greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well, and drank from it himself, as well as his sons and his livestock?”

13 Jesus answered and said to her, “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.”

15 The woman said to Him, “Sir, give me this water, that I may not thirst, nor come here to draw.”

If are are full of ourself and worldly concerns where is the room for Jesus? He may get a small part of us, but He wants to fill us completely. To do this we need to empty ourselves out and get rid of all the old junk. Then open ourselves up to receive all the goodness He has in store for us. His storehouse never runs out. His love never dies. He is forever faithful. Isn’t this wonderful news? I just have to empty myself completely and then go to Him to receive all the wonderful blessings He has for me. So this is why I can say with confidence and even a smile that being all dried up is good because thats when He really sends the rain on me and refreshes me and then i will not grow weary but soar with eagles.

Isaiah 40:31 (NKJV)  https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Isaiah+40:31&version=NKJV

 But those who wait on the Lord 
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.

Check out this blog and what the author wrote about being empty, she really has some good insight. http://rachelwojo.com/bible-verses-feel-empty/

I am the LORD your God, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it. Psalm 81:10

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. Rom. 15:13

Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.” Psalm 126:2

When you feel empty God can and will fill you with what you need  and even more. I hope the next time you feel exhausted, drained and that you have nothing left that you are encouraged.

God bless you, I know He loves you.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Dried Up

  1. Thank you for sharing such great insight

    It means that there is nothing left of me and now Jesus can fill me with His newness

    I never thought of it like this until you mentioned it, it really makes sense though and I am going to strivefor now on for there to be less of me so there is more of Jesus reflecting through me..

    Thank you again for sharing God Bless

    Teck,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

