Brandon J. Adams

myswordOne April during my Air Force tour, our squadron commander handed us a goal: a 100% off-duty safety record for the summer. I was skeptical. Our squadron consisted of twentysomethings equipped with motorcycles, ATV’s, jet-skis, and a love of their drink. Expecting no off-duty accidents for a whole summer seemed as likely as decoding your average Newsboys lyric. Did I mention we were based in college-town Phoenix?

Later, that commander visited the flightline and happened to strike up a conversation with my work group. Being a little (too?) bold, I asked respectfully if he expected the 100% goal to be reached. His gracious reply:

“Well, what results would I get if I only asked for 80%?”

I am among many Christians who are struggling with certain sins. (The rest are just being quiet about it.) We sincerely want to please God, cut the garbage out of our lives. The first thing I often say to teens in this battle…

View original post 675 more words

Leave a Reply

