Giving God Thanks December 9, 2016 – He Provides

Matthew 6:31-32 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.

Genesis 9:3 Every moving thing that lives shall be food for you. And as I gave you the green plants, I give you everything.

img_0002-1

Th cold weather has made its way to Texas. So what better way to warm your home than cooking. I enjoy cooking but don’t cook as much as I used to since I now live alone and do not entertain company as I used to. However the cold inspired me to do some cooking. What does this have to do with God’s provision? Well first the other day I was shopping and came across a sale on enchilada sauce and it was 3 cans for a dollar. Too good of a deal to pass on even though it was not on my list. Well it has since gotten cold and I wanted some soup. I had some chicken that I had baked and now I have enchilada sauce so what better soup to make than chicken enchilada.  So In went two of the cans of sauce then a coupe of cans of diced tomatoes, and diced green chilies. Add the chicken some corn and black olives and it was almost done. Then I realized that I had been to the store and didn’t have any cilantro. I figured it would be okay without.

img_0001-1

In the spring I had planted some cilantro but it did not grow. So you can imagine my surprise when I went to take my trash out and in my little flower bed there was cilantro growing and just the amount I had needed for my soup.

I smiled knowing God cares about even the little things in life that we take for granted. This cilantro was a gift rm God that came when I needed it.

Psalm 9:1   I will give thanks to you, LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.

Would you share what you are thankful for?

9 thoughts on “Giving God Thanks December 9, 2016 – He Provides

Leave a Reply

