Giving Thanks December 15, 2016 – Thanking God When Everything Is Not Going Well

James 1:2-4 (NKJV)   My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

Job 1:20 Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped. 21 And he said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” 2In all this Job did not sin or charge God with wrong.

It is easy t give thanks for getting the things you desire, but how can you be thankful or give praise when nothing is going right, and you seem to be under a constant attack. Do you ever feel like  there is no point to get out of bed because you know the day ahead only seems to have troubles waiting for you? I doubt that anyone who reads this hasn’t been through a world of trials and tribulations already. You have been hurt, betrayed, rejected, abused and the list goes on. So with all of the pain and loss we have had in our lives how can we praise God or even thank Him for what we are going through? I learned  some years ago to stop blaming Him for the pain in my life, but thanking Him for it is a different story. God did not create your pain but He can turn it into something good. Look at Joseph.

Genesis 50:20 (NKJV)  But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.

So today I have been sick for four days running a temperature of a 102. I hurt from head to toe, my stomach has me in the bathroom more than I care to admit, and the list of ailments goes on.  Now I have been through a lot worse so being sick is not a major tragedy in my life. Yet I am thankful that God has sent me friends that have brought me things like  ginger ale, soup and crackers, fruits and juice, and even kleenex. Things we might take for granted but when you are sick help make you feel better. So I might be sick but I am still loved and cared for and I thank God for this.

What are you thankful for today?

8 thoughts on “Giving Thanks December 15, 2016 – Thanking God When Everything Is Not Going Well

Leave a Reply

