Giving Thanks December 16, 2016 – Thanking God For Lessons When I Was In Gymnastics

Psalm 71:17  O God, You have taught me from my youth, And I still declare Your wondrous deeds.

Isaiah 54:13  “All your sons will be taught of the LORD; And the well-being of your sons will be great.

I don’t know what made me think about gymnastics today but a memory from my time being on my Junior High School team made me think. (Oh No! She is thinking smell the smoke 🙂 wheels are burning.) My event was the uneven parallel bar. The advantage I had is being short waisted helped me to center on the bar freeing me to spin without a lot of effort. So what lesson could I have from this memory? One I thought about the belt of Truth and how we are to surround our waist with it. Jesus is the Truth, the Life, and the Way. I am now able to look at that bar and see how being centered in Christ helps me to move freely in difficult times. It may be scary and I may fall but as long as I am centered I will be okay. Then their is the release and the landing. As you launch yourself off the bar and flip through the air you are doing two things. One you are letting go and the second is you are trusting God. Even if your landing is not perfect you can get up dust yourself off and move on to the next event. It has been more years than I care to admit since I was on the team but I am thankful that it has given me a lesson today that I can share and as some could say, ‘Stick It!’

Stick(v.) to land an acrobatic skill, jump or dismount perfectly, without any steps, stumbles or errors.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_gymnastics_terms#S

Psalm 25:12  Who is the man who fears the LORD? He will instruct him in the way he should choose.

Psalm 32:8  I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

Isaiah 48:17  Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you to profit, Who leads you in the way you should go.

Isaiah 28:26  For his God instructs and teaches him properly.

Isaiah 2:3  And many peoples will come and say, “Come, let us go up to the mountain of the LORD, To the house of the God of Jacob; That He may teach us concerning His ways And that we may walk in His paths.” For the law will go forth from Zion And the word of the LORD from Jerusalem.

What lesson are you thankful for?

11 thoughts on “Giving Thanks December 16, 2016 – Thanking God For Lessons When I Was In Gymnastics

Leave a Reply

