How Trees Are Like People

My God, My Music, My Life

As I was out on a ride today, I noticed trees that had fallen, most of them were big trees. It came to my attention the age old question, if a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

In October, 2011 two giant sequoia trees fell in the Sierra Nevadas. The trees had been around for 1500 years and appeared to be perfectly healthy. The forest service thinks that a wet winter caused the ground to be too soggy to hold the roots, which are relatively shallow. These trees can live to be 4000 years old so these two trees were what we would call teenagers.

These trees that have fallen, especially the big ones, remind me how any one of us can fall at anytime. We could be doing all the right things and then fall for oneā€¦

View original post 987 more words

Leave a Reply

