Saturday Sabbath is for Weird People

Gleaning The Scriptures

In Genesis 2:1 we learn that when God created a week, He placed a gift at the end of the week.  On the seventh day, God rested, and He sanctified and blessed that day for us.  He made a day where the very nature of the day is to help us rest.

That is why it is important to practice not just a day of rest, but to line up our day of rest with “the day of rest.”

Can We Trust This?  What about The New Covenant?

Now that we understand why we rest on a specific day, here is proof that He loves us:  in Exodus 20:8 He commands us to practice the day of rest.  Why is this love?  It took from Genesis 2 until Exodus 8 for it to go from an optional gift to grasp to a necessary gift to grasp.  We never have to…

View original post 761 more words

18 thoughts on “Saturday Sabbath is for Weird People

  1. I grew up in a Sabbath keeping denomination. It became an obvious point of salvation for most in my church. When I began to really read the word, I discovered that it is not an issue of salvation at all Romans 14:5 makes that very clear. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m pleased Julie that you find joy, in fellowshiping with other Christians on the Sabbath and I feel the same about those who choose Sunday or any other day to do so, for me everyday belongs to God and as I fellowship with other Christians I do not consider any day better than another to do so and God tells us this is OK as confirmed in the Scriptures below.

    Romans 14:5 One man esteemeth one day above another: another esteemeth every day alike. Let every man be fully persuaded in his own mind. He that regardeth the day regardeth it unto the Lord and he that regardeth not the day to the Lord he doth not regard it.

    Colossians 2:16-17 – Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day these are a shadow of the things that were to come the reality however is found in Christ.

    As we can see in these Scriptures, it’s our choice what day we fellowship with other Christians The early Church met everyday of the week not just on Saturday or Sunday they fellowshiped together, had Communion and went to the Temple to hear the Scriptures. God makes it very clear we are not to judge anyday as better

    Acts 2:45-47 And sold their possessions and goods and parted them to all men as every man had need. And they continuing daily with one accord in the Temple and breaking bread from house to house did eat their meat with gladness and singleness of heart Praising God and having favour with all the people. And the Lord added to the Church daily such as should be saved.

    Jesus and His Disciples did not legalistically keep the Sabbath because it was no longer needed, Jesus said; He was the Lord of the Sabbath meaning the fulfillment, our rest is in Him we are His Body but we were not to judge others in this regard.

    If we are in Christ Jesus we are keeping the Sabbath because we have our rest in Him which is what the Sabbath was symbolic of and why the Jews were to keep it Holy for the Generations to come but we are Gentiles and of the new Covenant in Christ Jesus.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Romans 14:5 One man esteemeth one day above another: another esteemeth every day alike. Let every man be fully persuaded in his own mind. He that regardeth the day regardeth it unto the Lord and he that regardeth not the day to the Lord he doth not regard it.

      Colossians 2:16-17 – Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day these are a shadow of the things that were to come the reality however is found in Christ.

      You are the man that esteem every day alike. We esteem the day The Lord has sanctified above any other day. I am fully persuaded in my mind. If scripture gives you two groups of people, it does not mean they are both right. Anne, you probably do not know you are doing this, but you are trying to persuade God’s children to practice lawlessness by using His word. You are breaking the third commandment: Do not use The Lord’s name in vain! God’s words NEVER encourage lawlessness. Romans 14:5 specifically says that if you regardeth not the day, to Lord you doth not regard it. Your own words condemn you. In other words because you do not recognize Sabbath, no day to you is regarded unto The Lord, regardless of what Satan has you thinking you are doing. Just like Eve did not think she was doing anything wrong, because Satan tricked her, you also are being tricked, not knowing your fault.

      Any reader: Do not let Satan steer your view of scripture to make it ok to be disobedient. Remember to spend time alone in prayer and in scripture reading and in repentance and no man will ever be able to knockyou off the course that leads you to Him. Never let a person take that gift from you with divisive words. By keeping His commands, He will reveal Himself to you. That is a promise from Him. Satan will try to take that from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Respectfully Gleaning The Scriptures as far as I know you are not a Jew although your a S.D.A? if so to depend on the Law to save you means you will be judged by the Law and if you break any of the rules and regulations that go with the Sabbath you will be judged for doing so.

        Jesus did not keep the Sabbath Legalistically, as the Scriptures shows us, He is the fulfillment of the Sabbath, He is our rest.

        Romans 14: 5-6 One man considers one day more sacred than another; another man considers every day alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind. He who regards one day as special, does so to the Lord. He who eats meat, eats to the Lord, for he gives thanks to God; and he who abstains, does so to the Lord and gives thanks to God.

        I have no problem Gleaning The Scriptures if you want to make Saturday your Holy day but I prefer to make every day Holy, in other words I believe that we as Christians no longer live for ourselves but the Lord and that one day a week is just not enough to express my heartfelt Love for Him and others, I also believe this was so with the early Christians and it is why after Jesus was resurrected and there was Pentecost they met everyday of the week to fellowship together and to Praise and Honour the Lord and they even went to the Temple, what’s good enough for them is good enough me.

        I’m going to thank God for every day I share with Him and no doubt you will thank Him for your Sabbath and all will be well.

        I would indeed have a big problem though Gleaning The Scriptures if I decided to follow all the rules and regulations that go with keeping the Sabbath, how do I tell that person who doesn’t that I need to kill him because he does not keep the Sabbath, still that’s not my biggest problem I’m also not sure how to explain why I killed him to the Police….. do you have any ideas that may help? also Gleaning The Scriptures be carful you don’t turn your stove on or have a barbecue on Saturday.

        Sabbath Regulations

        Exodus 35:1-3 Moses assembled the whole Israelite community and said to them, “These are the things the LORD has commanded you to do: For six days, work is to be done, but the seventh day shall be your Holy day, a Sabbath of rest to the LORD. Whoever does any work on it must be put to death. Do not light a fire in any of your dwellings on the Sabbath day.”

        Things are really getting complicated now Gleaning The Scriptures I just don’t know how I’m ever going to be able to get Two Lambs for every Saturday and can you tell me what kind of defects I’m to look for, after all ……. all lambs look the same to me… Cute… and than what about in Summer…sometimes there is a fire ban… so who am I to obey…. I can’t cook them in the oven because they won’t fit!… It’s all very confusing don’t you think ?

        Sabbath Offerings

        Numbers 28:9-10 Prepare the second lamb at twilight, along with the same kind of grain offering and drink offering that you prepare in the morning. This is an offering made by fire, an aroma pleasing to the LORD. ” ‘On the Sabbath day, make an offering of two lambs that are a year old without defect, together with its drink offering and a grain offering of two-tenths of an ephah of fine flour mixed with oil. This is the burnt offering for every Sabbath, in addition to the regular burnt offering and its drink offering.

        Colossians 2:16 Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day.

        Take care Gleaning The Scriptures and remember The Lord God does not judge us as severely as we judge ourselves and others which we can be eternally thankful for, we cannot earn Salvation but we will show we have it, big difference! but it is not by our strength that we do so, being Born again means we have God’s nature or seed and by the empowering of The Holy Spirit we keep the most important Commandments to Love Him and others which means we don’t hurt anyone, not because we are told not to but because we want to and because we can be no other way. 1John3:9

        Blessings – Anne.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I did not read the rest of your post. If you want to change it according to this, that would help: I am not SDA, nor I am Hebrew roots. I am a son of God. I belong to His house and have been and am being grafted into His vine. This means that every denomination and every non-christian hates me. The love of My Father and brothers and sisters for them outweighs any hate they could combine. To answer your question: I am a Son of God. affiliated with no church of earth. Affiliations that whose rituals require people to publicly deny truth in order to become one of them. Otherwise I would so gladly become part of a church. It is not easy.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. What makes you think that the reason you should follow the law is to attain something you think you already have? I never gave any reasons for why I follow the law other than that it is a command and I am obedient. My prize is not salvation That I recieved long ago. I want to see Yeshua, and be loved by Him. Further I am no longer just being loved by Him (taking) I am also loving him back(giving) I know I need Him. But He needs me too because He needs love. That is why He gave us a book with instructions that could be followed by even children on “how to” love Him.

        Further, Christ never ever broke the laws of Torah. It is the Torah laws that He followed perfectly that made His blood pure. If He had broken those laws, His blood would have not been an acceptable sacrifice and we would not be saved.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Anne I am no longer an Adventist nor do belong to any denomination because I have come to see that it is nothing more than a dividing the body of Christ. This was a reblog not something I wrote but I see that many still have something to argue about. When I read the the Sabbath command what I see is a day of rest and not works. Jesus Himself was criticized for His actions on the Sabbath. I am learning not to be so rigid that I cannot accept another’s point of view. There is a Sabbath and there is Sunday worship I will not condemn or argue with anyone who chooses to acknowledge one day over another because if I do then I am making a demand on another saying they are wrong because they are not doing it my way.In all honesty any church service requires work. The pastor is working the music team is working, those in the nursery or children’s ministry are working. What we need is one day to truly rest in His presence. Going to church on either day does not make it holy. Being humble and drawing closer to Him and acknowledging Him as the Only True God worshiping Him with thanks giving and praise and most important loving one another as He loves us.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Colosions 2:16-17 is there to remind you, lover of God, that as you practice lawfulness by walking in the shadow of things to come, (Sabbath and such) to never let a person judge you for doing so. And always remember, that these things are pointing to Christ. When he shows up, it is time to move towards Him, because the substance of Him is better than a shadow of Him.

    Practicing Sabbath on Sunday or any other day is a shadow of something that is trying to be Christ instead of something that is trying to follow Christ.

    The Lawless will always try to use scripture to make us no longer judge them. It is not us that judges them. It is The Savior that judges them. They feel uncomfortable because we point out their wrongs and they refuse to change. That is not us judging them, that is The Holy Spirit convicting them. And they will get angry and spout their scripture and hate and persecute and call us judgers of men. Such is the spirit of religion without Him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

    Paul prays encouragement that through you The Savior will judge others. You are right to be judgmental of the things God has shown you are wrong. You are right to no let anyone judge you for doing what is right.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you Anne for your informative comment. I am no longer so rigid about the sabbath myself and have attended both sabbath keeping and Sunday services. What I read in the commandment regarding the Sabbath is about resting in the Lord. It is not about the works or traditions of man. I shared this post when I came across it because it too was informative. There is actually a person in my life who is quite frustrated with me because I no longer belong to the Adventist Church which I actually find some humor in because when I was a member this person criticized me for being a member. Now almost 20 years later they have become and Adventist and still criticize me. I like what Jesus said about the Sabbath and that the He was Lord of the Sabbath.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Julie I too have worshiped on the Sabbath with S.D.A, I now worship on Sunday and have for many years although as I shared before, everyday I seek to dedicate to God. I remained in touch with one of the Ministers of the S.D.A for years after I left them but when I showed him through the confirmation of Scripture the reality of Hell which will be in the Lake of Fire, he would not talk to me anymore, this man was not in bondage with the fear of eating meat but he was in fear of loosing his Salvation if he didn’t keep the Sabbath and he was not a Jew but they too are no longer under the Law of the Sabbeth if they are in Christ Jesus, like us it’s their choice what day they Worship Jesus is our rest.

    Julie I never received your reply above only Gleaning The Scriptures do you know why?

    Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry Julie you must have misunderstood me, you had already replied to my comment but I had not received it, I still haven’t . Sorry you are not well I will keep you in my Prayers. I found something when I had Bronchitis that really helped, it’s called Senega and Ammonia I got it from a Chemist, within a week I had stopped coughing.

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

    1. once again I did not write this post and attacking me because I chose to acknowledge another persons point view is not acting in love but more like you wish for me to submit to your way of thinking.you have a right to chose for yourself just as this writer has done To me there is too much strife in the body of Christ and we are not loving each other as He wants us to. Love does not mean you agree with the other but that you accept them as Jesus has accepted you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

