Dating

Good message, the writer of this post made some excellent points. Single or married I hope you read his post.

Adam Desmond

Since we’ve been discussing marriage recently, I thought I’d share my thoughts on dating.

In short, I hate it.

If dating is supposed to prepare you for marriage, I believe we are setting ourselves up for failure. I wonder how many marriage problems can be traced to this.

In many ways, I think dating is a reaction to courtship rituals of days past, from arranged marriages to dowries. I don’t want to get into the morality of arranged marriages or the fact that women were once treated more like property, but in many ways, arranged marriages are a better path to a lasting marriage than dating, assuming both people are interested in making the marriage work. There are, of course, problems inherent in both systems, but since we are unlikely to reintroduce arranged marriages in our culture, I feel that addressing the shortcomings in dating might be a more practical approach…

View original post 1,046 more words

One thought on “Dating

Leave a Reply

