Unyielding Vessels

Instructions have been given to you but you did not do exactly how you were told to perform the task. You thought that you knew a better way. You brought attention to yourself when you were to do the task quietly. Your reward came from men and not from God because of this. How many blessings have you missed because of your refusal to do as you were told to do? How many blessings have you from another because you you would not let go of your own ways.

What areas in your life have you not yielded to Jesus? I know there are things in my life that I have not let go of. I make excuses and reasons that I don’t have to do so right now. I can do it later, or it really isn’t that important, and the list goes on. I am then being an unyielding vessel. My wants, desires and convenience has become more important than doing what God has asked me to do, or not do.

Then there are the things that I have done but instead of doing the task without bringing attention to myself, I announce what I am doing or what I have done. I got the glory when it belonged to God. It was not mine, I was just to be His vessel and carry his message and His love. This does not mean when you have done something for Jesus and someone thanks you that you are wrong, but you should do the task what ever it is without expectation of any reward. Also do it without grumbling and complaining, but do it with a joyful attitude even if what you are called to do is difficult, or you think it is beneath you.

We should be willing vessels. Prepared to do what we are called for at the time we are asked. God will not force you to do it, but then if you refuse, you are the only one keeping you from the blessing He has for you. Remember in the story of Esther, when her cousin sends word to her of how she needed to go to the king to save the Jews who were going to be put to death? He tells her if she does not do this, her fate will be as the rest of her people for she was a Jew. (If Esther approached the king without his invitation, even though she was his wife, she faced death.) He also said that she did not do what was being asked, God would find another. You know the rest of the story, and Esther did save her people. She was obedient even though she put her own life on the line to do so. I have to remind myself of her story when there are things that I have to do, that are unpleasant or even seem impossible for me to do. I then have to remember that even if I don’t have what I need to do what I am called to do, God will provide me with what ever I need to do His will, and in doing this it is truly Him working through me, and not works of my own flesh, or for me to seek reward.

I pray that when God asks me to do something that I will simply obey and know that it His will that shall be done, and that the glory belongs to Him.

Esther chapter 4

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Esther+4&version=HCSB

Esther chaper 5

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Esther+5&version=HCSB

Job 22:21 Submit to God and be at peace with him; in this way prosperity will come to you.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Unyielding Vessels

Leave a comment