Thank God for the ones who give

Matthew 6:26-34 New King James Version
26 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? 28 “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; 29 and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

God is our provider and He provides for our needs through us.

Life is not easy for most of us. We all have things in life we struggle with, needs we don’t know how they will be met. We worry and stress not knowing how we will pay the bills and at the same time feeling bad when we do not have the means to help another. I have been discussing this topic with someone I know who cannot understand why people they go to church with know that there are people who are struggling to put a roof over their head, food on the table, etc… yet don’t offer any physical help, only empty words.

This is a very giving person who has taken in a single father, his two daughters and his disabled mother and has now taken in another person. She also gives help to others with what she can. She has been trying desperately to raise money to help get an RV she found to house the woman she brought into her home on using Facebook. Unfortunately she hasn’t gotten any help there. A few people she knows outside of church have given her a little money to help but she still needs a thousand to purchase the RV. She actually has a goal of buying land to put RV’s on to help people who have become homeless to give them a place to live.

I am thankful to call her both a friend and sister in Christ. She is one who even helps me when she can. Even though she lives paycheck to paycheck. There is another person here who has been sending me help even though we have not met. I want to thank them, and they know who they are. ‘Thank you!’

God provides for His children through His body, His children. These are the people that don’t just go to church but are the church. When they see a person in need they do not hesitate to give. It has been difficult few years for me and I am still waiting for a decision on my disability case, so I understand the importance of being the arms and hands of God. I think about the widow with two mites who gives that last of what she has, and how Jesus acknowledged her gift. The the widow who made Elijah food out of the last her her flour and oil, and how God made sure that her and son did not go hungry the rest of their lives.

So thank all of you who give and meet the needs of others. You are evidence of God’s love and provision. I thank God for you and all you do. May He bless and prosper you all the days of your lives.

James 2:12 KJV So speak ye, and so do, as they that shall be judged by the law of liberty. 13For he shall have judgment without mercy, that hath shewed no mercy; and mercy rejoiceth against judgment. 14What doth it profit, my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him? 15If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, 16And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit? 17Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. 18Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.

Matthew 25:36-40 English Standard Version 36 I was naked and You clothed me, I was sick and You visited me, I was in prison and You came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 And when did we see You a stranger and welcome You, or naked and clothe You? 39 And when did we see You sick or in prison and visit You?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to Me.’

These scriptures describe you who love and give without concern for yourself.

7 thoughts on “Thank God for the ones who give

Leave a comment