I Won’t Back Down

I just came across a new version of the Tom Petty song, ‘I won’t back down’. It was so beautifully sung, but it reminded me of the original song. Thankfully they did not change one word, but as they sang the song the lyrics reminded me of my relationship with Christ Jesus and our Heavenly Father. How no matter how difficult and even painful life in this world can be, I cannot back down. I must stand my ground, firmly planted on The Rock. It’s lyrics are straight to the point, and for me it means that no matter what this world may throw at you, don’t back down. Stay true to God and stand firm on HIS Word. He won’t let you down.


I Wonโ€™t Back Down Lyrics / Tom Petty 1989
[Verse 1]
Well, I won’t back down
No, I won’t back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down
No, I’ll stand my ground (Ephesians 6:12-14 New English Translation 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world rulers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens. 13 For this reason, take up the full armor of God so that you may be able to stand your ground on the evil day, and having done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm therefore, by fastening the belt of truth around your waist, by putting on the breastplate of righteousness,)

Won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin’ me down (HE won’t let this world drag us away, He holds us tight and won’t let go of us.)
Gonna stand my ground
And I won’t back down

[Chorus]
I won’t back down
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out (It is not a path without trials, tribulations, and persecution when we follow Christ)
I won’t back down
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down

[Verse 2]
Well I know what’s right
I got just one life (With Jesus we have an eternal life if you choose to believe and follow HIM.)
In a world that keeps on pushin’ me around (the world persecutes us for our faith in Jesus)
But I’ll stand my ground
And I won’t back down

[Chorus]
I won’t back down
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
I won’t back down
Hey, I will stand my ground
(I won’t back down)
And I won’t back down

[Instrumental Break]

[Chorus]
I won’t back down
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
I won’t back down
Hey, I won’t back down
I won’t back down
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
I won’t back down
Hey, I will stand my ground
(I won’t back down)
And I won’t back down
(I won’t back down)
No, I won’t back down

Here are both versions, the original and the one I listened to today. I hope you enjoy listening.

14 thoughts on “I Won’t Back Down

Leave a comment